Nurture is my word for 2016.

I’m all about exhorting the power of nature, how a good dose of wilderness can belittle petty life concerns and leave you revitalised.  The word nurture though can be slightly bent on that and brings in variants of human nature.

Nurture is ‘my word’ for 2016.  Its trendy to choose a word, on instagram anyway to reflect how you want to live/ feel/ act and it’s a lot more simplified than a list of new years resolutions which I have in my head, but are becoming depressingly familiar.  The unpublished novel manuscript to scrub up, that’s one that has been around for a while and it feels like it is coming to a head.  I’m nurturing it this year, not “publishing” it, but bloody hope to get somewhere close to publication in some shape or form.

As always, nurturing extends to family and to get the most value out of the super nurturing mother bear I aim to be, the bear gets to be nurtured first.  That means all things healthy and energising (like lots of time in nature…) and a whole bunch of other things I have worked out that make me feel cuddly.  Its good to remember those things and schedule them in with all the daily crap to keep the beast calm.  For example tonight I have a pilates class scheduled and I could so easily pull the pin on it because the father bear will not be home and its not exactly a budget necessity or great timing with children’s readers to do etc, but how great does it make me feel!  It has to be prioritised.  Where there is a will there’s a way (and a nurtured, nurturing wild women).  We can be great shufflers of the stuff of our lives!

And here is my best nurturing snack for now, taken from a mate’s sisters blog which has some weird and wonderful ideas for nourishing food.  This recipe, you can take my word for, is family friendly and moorish.  Thank you Roasted Turmeric and Chilli Cashews by the Holistic Ingredient – YUM.

And from my kitchen a nurturing family fave in Autumn:

Spontaneous Apple Crumble

  • Peel and slice one apple per desert eater.  I used 3 motley windfall apples from the garden.
  •  Divide the sliced apple between small ramekin dishes (or one bigger one).
  • Mix equal parts plain wholemeal flour, brown sugar and muesli in a bowl ( I used about a tbsp each for 3 people).
  •  Add enough cold butter (about 50g for 3 serves) and rub ingredients together with fingertips.
  • Evenly distribute crumble mix over apple.
  • Pop in a moderate oven 180 deg.
  • Cooks in about 20 mins, enough time to get in pj’s and read a picture book.

IMG_1979[1]

 

 

Author: Lucy Taylor

Explorer of writing and place, with roots in the beautiful North West coast of Tasmania. Mother of wild boys, and wife of another. Blogging for another place to write about things that interest me and guide me. Also working on a novel and available for freelance copywriting in spare moments.

2 thoughts on “Nurture is my word for 2016.”

    1. Oh great! Thanks for reading Sarah 🙂 I thought my blogging days might be numbered but its kind of nice to keep this outlet open! Story is currently in another’s hands… twiddling fingers…waiting for another redraft after feedback. xx

      Like

Please add your two bob...

