Slow parenting- taking the scenic route (and all its slack)

roses on wooden backgroundIt is that elusive quiet time.  A chosen moment of peace in my day at home with my three and a half year old son who is most often by my side.

I’ve switched on the television, we are buzzing after playgroup and have eaten too much chocolate slice with other ‘stay at home’ mothers and their charges on this day and now we are content to switch off.  I can retreat to my writing space feeling sated by the morning’s good company and treats.

My novel manuscript mid- edit is put to one side.  Its beginning to become boring, two years in the making.  I’ll get back to that in the morning while the whole house sleeps.  I have one invoice to send off for copy writing work, meagre offerings from a freelance writer to our family budget.  My blog today is a confessed self indulgent piece of  journal writing and it feels appropriate given the conversation topics raised at playgroup this morning.

xmas 2013 to easter 2014 512

 

The perfectly unattainable work/life balance, self esteem and ‘who you are?’ beyond ‘what you do?’ have been suggested  as topics for a discussion group for our community of mothers in our regional area.  Let me know if you want to hear more about where the conversations will take us.

I am mostly thinking about something else entirely, that goes beyond this.  The perception of being ‘busy’.  Shawn Fink of abundantmama.com has permitted a ban on busy, which may seem extremist if you are one of those people who thrives on doing it in the fast lane.  I however embrace the notion of ‘slow parenting’.  Mostly because it is completely absurd.  The hours move quickly, days, years can be gone and a baby grown to a small child with a giant ‘tude.

We are still in an early childhood stage in this house but I am astounded at how my ‘slow’ living has amounted to this chunk of time I’ve been a ‘stay at home mum’ having gone by.  I have essentially taken the scenic route, have literally explored our ‘local’ world with my little explorer’s- got to the same place many others are at, probably with similar results (my average, normal, somewhat dull, sometimes fabulous life) has got me to this moment- what do I have for it.  Snapshots of the view?  Crap everywhere?   xmas 2013 to easter 2014 189

Without thinking tangibly I’ve decided, from this place of infinite wisdom that, slow parenting- taking the scenic route is:

Wonderful for writers, creative’s and meditative souls who might truly embrace these pockets of time to dream and slip into the imaginative world of a child.

A time for growing life long friendships and relationships with like- minded people.

Gives women a chance to evolve with the changed body shape and mind-set, parenthood invariably brings.  May you be stronger for taking this journey.  More emotionally fit and physically beautiful.

Physicality is important.  Actually being in your young child’s life means a lot of human touch.  Skin touching, emotion altering, endorphin pumping touch: hormones all aflutter.

xmas 2013 to easter 2014 058

It is a time for learning about your place in the world as a mother.  The circle of life continues.  I’m thinking BIG, which is to say I’m talking about how small and insignificant your actions are, placed on a world scale and how in a child’s life it might seem that you are the world.  It can turn worries on their head, this type of wonder.  Little things can count, as much as the big things.

Living out a parenthood- centric phase of life; right in the centre of it is at best- cuteness.  Its also peppered with those ragged, stinky moments that are celebrations– toilet training- hooray, really does it ever end!  School days, where you are essentially free for a short while and miss the chatter.

You value nurture.

You value nature.

You are lucky and you truly believe it.

And often you crave life in the fast lane; the craving in itself often a dream better than the prize.

You chose this life and your living it.  Slowly; the scenic way where you’ll find me here at my lookout.

xmas 2013 to easter 2014 043

Author: Lucy Taylor

Explorer of writing and place, with roots in the beautiful North West coast of Tasmania. Mother of wild boys, and wife of another. Blogging for another place to write about things that interest me and guide me. Also working on a novel and available for freelance copywriting in spare moments.

6 thoughts on “Slow parenting- taking the scenic route (and all its slack)”

  1. Helen’s right. This is wonderfully written. And you are so right – physicality is important. More important than expensive toys, clothes and drives to endless ‘clubs’. It’s my first visit to your beautiful blog, but I look forward to reading more of your posts. Emma 🙂

    Like

  2. Very nice piece of writing, flowing yet loose. So hard to convey these feelings without feeling smug. You succeed. My two are now nearly grownup and I’m so glad I was there for them in those golden years.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment, Helen. The ‘smug’ factor is worthy of a chat. It may come up in our mum discussion evening, this friday? Its a tricky one, being proud of what you do (so often riddled with self doubt) and then not harping on to this point of smugness. There is soo much worthy of thought, action and conversation out there. The mum stuff can often get a bit dull, but it is so consuming when you are living it. Appreciate your words x

      Like

    1. Thanks for reading Han, would have been interesting to listen in on you…! Hope your southern Tassie day is as mild and silvery as it is in the North West. Beach beckons for a walk with the mad mutt (and young Rocket)! That’s gotta be a stay at home- winning activity… smug? oh dear. xx

      Like

Please add your two bob...

