Give yourself a label; make it you at your best

Give yourself a label; at your best

Check out this blog I follow, Rarasaurus.  She is a gung-ho blogger and suggested celebrating International Label Day.  It was fun condensing words that might fit an image of me “the blogger”.  It is easy to become invisible as a writer, other jobs are much easier to digest.  It’s natural for me to celebrate being a “mother” particularly while in the thick of it with pre-schoolers, but I wasn’t keen to label myself as that because arguably, I’m equally a wife, daughter and sister (even more recently I’ve been labelled a “fairy godmother”). Every man and woman has sparkly eyed notions of themselves beyond the distractions of parenting.  There are things that make us whole.  Though parenthood does undoubtedly redefine the importance of a lot of other stuff, and it can give us perspective; it does not change who we are.  We are all ultimately lovers and warriors on our own battle paths.

I joined this gal’s blogger community to label myself as…

Have a look via the link up the top or down the bottom.  There is an eclectic collection of online bloggers getting personal, including a better profile shot than this…

Here I am, rooting about in the giant nasturtiums on the weekend.  Might say I'm a "rooter"!
Here I am, rooting about in the giant nasturtiums on the weekend. Might say I’m a “rooter”!

 

Author: Lucy Taylor

Explorer of writing and place, with roots in the beautiful North West coast of Tasmania. Mother of wild boys, and wife of another. Blogging for another place to write about things that interest me and guide me. Also working on a novel and available for freelance copywriting in spare moments.

4 thoughts on “Give yourself a label; make it you at your best”

Please add your two bob...

