working on the beast now; hello november

National Novel Writing Month

November is appearing to fill up quickly with fun distractions. More reason to employ an external motivator like the NaNoWriMo initiative. I’ve signed up to November’s National Novel Writing Month. I’m treating this as a daily motivator to write. I actually think I’ll be doing more rewrites than anything on my young piece, post my uni- driven fiction splurge. My aim is to have something more solid to work on, in it’s entirety. If I can see a clearer ending after November, I’ll be stoked!

Does anybody else write down their goals? For themselves? Publicly? Do you tell your good time friends what you really strive for and why? Is this just another form of list- making (done that post), self- indulgent fun for a lass with a keyboard at the ready?

Deadlines are like a guide, wordy ones work best for me, not dates. In the dwindling days of 2013 I imagine the resolutions I mapped out earlier in the year (this year one of many years I’ve saved such a file)! It’s an ongoing goal, ‘writing a book’ that features each year in some kind of ambitious one-liner. This past year was about completing a Masters at Uni. Another year I strived to enter short story competitions. It’s always been another thing, with other things too. Babies have dominated. Funnily enough the ambition gets more focused as time and experience bring about new challenges. Word wending encounters and life conflicts battle much like a ‘protagonist’ might find oneself in, one debarcle of a situation, after another. The ideal ending is a resolution. Something I hope to glean for the further writing of my tale, beyond November. A monthly- kind of goal!

Meanwhile, today I dunked my whole body into the crisp Southern Ocean and felt all sorts of old-fashioned notions about the “health- giving” properties of an ocean bathe. Here is a glimpse of our home paradise.

2 boys, 1 dog and a surprised mother in her underwear all took a dip in the quiet waters at our local
2 boys, 1 dog and a surprised mother in her underwear all took a dip in the quiet waters at our local
Table Cape in the background and her black volcanic rock along the foreshore
Table Cape in the background and her black volcanic rock along the foreshore
This pungent weed smells like growing up in summer
This pungent weed smells like growing up in summer
drizzled in sunlight
drizzled in sunlight

 

Author: Lucy Taylor

Explorer of writing and place, with roots in the beautiful North West coast of Tasmania. Mother of wild boys, and wife of another. Blogging for another place to write about things that interest me and guide me. Also working on a novel and available for freelance copywriting in spare moments.

Please add your two bob...

